Michael Jackson ~ The death of an icon

5196_1188239548204_1294794169_508620_4890869_nWell I think by now most people have heard that Michael Jackson former music “icon” has died. that day was really just another normal day for me, y’know the usual picking up the house, trying to stay sane, obsessing over RPattz (lol) and then checking out my facebook.

I haven’t really been watching too much TV lately because it seems either depressing or just plain stupid. I always forget to watch the shows I want like So You Think You Can Dance, yeah I am cheestastic like that, or stuff that actually requires some sort of talent to be on the show. I actually like those shows so I hadn’t seen any news . Back to Michael.

I went to our American Idol Thread that was started a million years ago after last years show ended in the Cook era and we just kept it going for the Lambert show. I saw a post that Farrah had died along with MJ and Ed. Ok Farrah I half way expected god bless her soul. Cancer is a terrible scourge that plagues our earth and maybe just maybe someday we will wipe it out altogether but for now many good people lose their lives to it.

I was curious about the other two people. I asked who MJ and Ed were (yeah I am retarded, face palm). No one was online so I went to Google and looked up Farrah knowing there would be more about other deaths of the day and I about had a heart attack when I read the news on CNN.com that Michael Jackson was dead at the age of 50.

Ok, for a lot of us my age, Michael Jackson’s music was a defining moment in our musical history. I grew up with Michael Jackson. I know all of you can say this, but I mean I started with “off the wall” his first solo album and went from there. That in itself was amazing and to hear music like “working day and night”, “rock with you” and “don’t stop till you get enough” was like a spiritual experience. Thank God it wasn’t disco but it wasn’t rock, it was just….well, Michael Jackson. In middle school my friends and I would make up all kinds of dances to the songs off the album “off the wall” and practice every dance move we could.

Then when I was a freshman in high school and made it on the cheerleading/dance team I used a lot of those moves in choreographing some of our routines. Let’s face it Michael Jackson was brilliant right from the start. Nothing prepared me for the day I came home and a new album was sitting on my bed.
The album “Thriller” which would go on to be one of the biggest selling albums in history was probably one of the most amazing things I have ever heard. In fact, I still to this day listen to “Wanna Be Starting Something” “PYT” and of course “Thriller” every Halloween.

My mom had gone out and bought me the album, one of the few really cool5196_1188239348199_1294794169_508619_4435720_n things she ever did for me in those tumultuous times. I was just ecstatic jumping up and down and squeeeeing all over the place and had to get on the phone to all my friends. Thank god I had my own phone line (back in the mesozoic era, that was a big deal) because I think I was on the phone all night that night playing songs for my friends so they could hear, it was awesome! The next day at cheerleading practice I brought the album and we started practicing our very first of many Michael Jackson inspired routines.

So as years went on Michael went on to make amazing music but as we all know he seems to be less known for his music in the last years of his life than the controversy that constantly surrounded him. The truth of the matter is, no matter how weird some of us thought he might have been or what we did or did not agree with Michael Jackson was never convicted of any crimes and personally I am not totally convinced that half of it was not based on greed and money.

5196_1188239908213_1294794169_508621_4706238_nIt has always been my philosophy that the good outweighs the bad and lets just put some things into context that seem to be forgotten about Michael Jackson. Michael Jackson donated and raised millions of dollars for beneficial causes. The Dangerous World Tour began on June 27, 1992, and finished on November 11, 1993. Jackson performed to 3.5 million people in 67 concerts. All profits from the concerts went to the “Heal the World Foundation”, raising millions of dollars in relief. Through the foundation, Jackson airlifted 46 tons of supplies to Sarajevo, instituted drug and alcohol abuse education and paid for a Hungarian child’s liver transplant.

Prior to the creation of the Heal the World Foundation, Jackson had expressed great interest in humanitarianism, equality and world peace. Songs such as “We Are the World” and “Man in the Mirror” convey this. Jackson also donated millions of dollars to charity, including his $5 million share from the Victory Tour. In 1984, while filming a Pepsi Cola commercial, Jackson suffered second degree burns to his scalp after pyrotechnics accidentally set his hair on fire. PepsiCo settled a lawsuit out of court, and Jackson gave his $1.5 million settlement to the “Michael Jackson Burn Center” which helps people with severe burns. Shortly afterward, Jackson was invited to the White House to receive an award presented by President Ronald Reagan. The award was given for Jackson’s support of charities that helped people overcome alcohol and drug abuse.

In 1985, Jackson co-wrote the charity single “We Are the World” with Lionel Richie, which was released worldwide to aid the poor in Africa and the US. He was one of 39 music celebrities who performed on the record. The single became one of the best-selling singles of all time, with nearly 20 million copies sold and millions of dollars donated to famine relief. It was also the first time Jackson was recognized for his humanitarian efforts.

One of Michael Jackson’s most acclaimed performances came during the halftime show at the National Football League’s Super Bowl XXVII. At the show, Jackson performed his anthem “Heal the World”, to help promote the organization with the assistance of a choir of 750 people and a flash card display involving 98,000 volunteers. Jackson donated his entire fees to the foundation, with the NFL also donating $100,000 and a 30-second TV spot to push for contributions.

Following the Super Bowl, Jackson ran a full-page advertisement in the newspaper USA Today, providing a toll-free number. A coupon was

famous anti gravity move

famous anti gravity move

 provided that could be clipped and mailed in along with a contribution. Those donating $35 or more were given a “Heal the World” T-shirt. The environmental themed music video for “Earth Song” closed with a request for donations to Jackson’s foundation. In 1997, Jackson earned money from photographs of his son, Prince Michael. The photographs were sold to “OK!” magazine and the National Enquirer, raising $3 million for the foundation.

So whatever Michael Jackson has been accused of or whatever strange things he has done over the course of time, the good definitely outweighs the bad. Believe me, being a mother, I am not a fan of some of his odd behavior or beliefs of what is right and wrong while spending time with children ie:sleeping in the same bed etc. BUT I am a fan of the fact that he has contributed some of the most amazing music, the most unbelievable stage shows and the most importantly has been one of the biggest humanitarians of our recent time. So instead of judging this man I think we should all say a prayer for his family and let him rest in peace. It is never our place to judge anyone in the first place, he will have to face that soon enough. God Bless ~

Peace love and happiness ~ Nans

1 Comment

  1. … [Trackback]

    […] Informations on that Topic: readin2this.wordpress.com/2009/10/17/michael-jackson-the-death-of-an-icon/ […]

    Like


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

