Clutter

Clutter, we all have it and most live with it on a daily basis.  It is so much easier to live with than take the time to clean and straighten up.  This must be why after 21 years I am finally going through mine, not out of desire, but necessity.

The definition for clutter in Webster’s Revised Unabridged Dictionary Clutter ~ Clut”ter.., v. t. [imp. & p. p. Cluttered; p. pr. & vb. n. Cluttering.] To crowd together in disorder; to fill or cover with things in disorder; to throw into disorder; to disarrange; as, to clutter a room.

 

My adorable 1st born baby boy Derrick at 3 years old for the longest time it was just the two of us :)

My adorable 1st born baby boy Derrick at 3 years old for the longest time it was just the two of us 🙂

Disorder in my life would be the understatement of all times, whether we are talking about messes in my house or in my own life.  I feel like my whole life is a perpetual cluttered mess.  Once again left to my own devices, I could go on forever about that.  This time I am talking about actual clutter and why we feel the need to keep some of the things that we do.

Today, as I was cleaning my room, which seems to be taking forever after Chuck moved out, I decided to go through one of the boxes that made it in here when he took some of his furniture out.  Thinking this would just be one of those things that I would just have to take a quick peek in I sat on the

Derrick today at 23 :D

Derrick today at 23 😀

bed and opened the box.

You could not believe the pile of CRAP that was in there.  I mean I knew that I married a pack rat, but this was just ridiculous and to leave me to go through everything?  Damn, I should just get a dumpster and throw it all away, but as soon as I do that you know there will be some precious memory that I am throwing out, so I will sit and go through all 21 years even if it takes me what seems like a lifetime, after all it took almost a lifetime to accumulate.

My youngest Sabrina at 3

My youngest Sabrina at 3

I had to laugh at some of the things that were saved.  They made no sense.  Can someone PLEASE tell me why anyone would save a coupon for 10% off groceries with an 8 gallon fill up, that was only good for THAT DAY???  Then there were the FOUR phone books from various years.  Some from Portland and some from Bend, God knows we need those, because we don’t get them EVERY year or anything.

I found an old Vanity Fair magazine from five years ago, the crappiest red lipstick known to mankind, the reason it probably made it to the box is that I would rather put toxic

Bree has changed quite a bit over the years but still as beautiful even with the horrible duck lips

Bree has changed quite a bit over the years but still as beautiful even with the horrible duck lips

waste on my lips than that.  I found my long lost bottle of Allegra prescribed to me in 2000, and a whole bunch of other crap not even worthy of mentioning.

I did however find some good stuff, so I guess the night wasn’t a total bust. I found adorable pictures of my babies.  Amazingly they were 2 of them were three when these pictures were taken, which in itself is kind of strange given their age differences. I also found old report cards, letters and notes telling me how much they love me and

My son Austin made this for me for mothers day in 2nd grade, it says your the best mom from austin :)

My son Austin made this for me for mothers day in 2nd grade, it says to the best mom ever 🙂

that I am the best mommy in the world *heart melting*, precious memories that should NEVER have been shoved in a box with a bunch of crap. Honestly, I can’t understand why they were.

Sometimes we find that clutter isn’t clutter after all, if you take the time to sort through and remember how the mess was made in the first place.  We accumulate clutter in our lives because we never take the time to sort out and clean out whatever junk is bogging us down.  Of course this not only applies to the messes in our homes, but our lives as well.

this is Austin today at 18 :)

this is Austin today at 18 🙂

 

 

Peace, Love and Happiness to you and yours ~Nan 🙂

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

