Hair today….Gone tomorrow

Well I recently did something I never thought that I would do, I gave my hair away.  Anyone that knows me knows that my hair is one of the most important things to me.  I know, it is totally vain but I don’t really give a shit.  Hair lips and eyes, that’s my thing.  Even after I have gained a HORRENDOUS amount of weight and feel like if they re-made the movie “the blob”, I could get the staring role, at least that blob would have killer fucking hair, lips and eyes.

090609-lightningboy-hmed-530a_standard

Austin talking on the Today show with Matt Lauer, his hair was the longest it has ever been

Anyway, back to my hair….I had been posting all over my facebook page about this charity event in my son Austin’s name the last day or so.  You probably remember Austin as being the kid that had a run in with a million watt bolt of electricity a few months back?  Well, a few years ago he started growing his hair out. When I first asked him if he was gonna cut it he said no he didn’t feel like it.  Well this went on and fast forward a year or so and I was in the hospital after brain surgery with a shaved head (actually only one side).  Austin still had his long hair and was not planning on cutting it yet.  At that time I asked him if he ever did would he consider giving to the Locks of Love organization.

Now almost 2.5 years later, and a few months after my third brain surgery and Austin being hit by lightning, he made the commitment to cut his hair for charity.  We had to get up at 4 am to be there at 5am because the event was being broadcast by local news.  It turns out that the Today show wanted to cover it because my husband promised them an exclusive follow up to their first show but he dropped the ball and snubbed Matt Lauer (my husband…the biggest fucking idiot on the planet). 

If you all are wonder why there is sudden change in my disgust towards the whole media thing, it is because there is a vast difference between pimping your kid for possible personal gain and pimping a charity that helps children with cancer.  Had I been in charge of publicity for this I would have had as much news coverage national and local as possible.  Anyone that wanted to cover this story could have been there to bring awareness to not only Locks of Love but also The Cancer Lymphoma Society, which was also being represented at the salon that day.

So Austin had his hair cut on TV and did all the media stuff, he even got to

austin

Austin after giving the rest of his hair the Locks of Love foundation to make sick kids real hair wigs. *see link on my page if you want to make a donation*

 cut one of the little girl’s hair braids off on TV.  I don’t know who was more scared Austin or the little girl getting her hair cut!!  After all this took place, I kept telling myself that enough people were going to come in that they wouldn’t need my hair and that my hair was color treated and in crappy shape and whatever else I could think of to keep from feeling guilty about not giving my hair but guilt finally won out.

I just couldn’t live with myself seeing even the tiniest of little girls going in there and giving their hair and not one of them cried!!!  How bad could it be right??  Well, for those of you that don’t know, my hair used to go all the way down to my lower back at the very longest point.  You don’t know how bad I wanted to cry when that initial cut happened.  First of all, I have or should I say HAD so much hair that Tamara, literally had to saw through my hair with the scissors because when it was in a pony tail like it needs to be to send it L.O.L. it was so thick the scissors could not get through it like everyone else’s.

locks of love

Before you cut your hair off think about a sick child in need *click the picture to find out more*

So now I feel about 10 lbs lighter and 10 years younger with my new style and you know what?  It wasn’t as bad as I thought it would be and it definitely was for such an important cause that if I ever let my hair get that long again I wouldn’t hesitate for a second to do it again, after all you’re donating hair so that some child with cancer can have a wig made from real hair.  I hope other people will follow in my footsteps and do the same thing.  I was lucky; I had one of the best stylists in the state and the former west coast distributor for Sexy Hair Products who also happens to be my sister-in-law.  I know you will all have a hard time believing this but I didn’t even cry!!

*sorry there is no after picture of me, but I freak out at cameras and pics so chances are you will never see another pic of me besides the one on the “Me” page, before my hair cut but I can tell you I gave away 16″ of hair and still have hair to the top of my shoulders. 🙂

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

