It Doesn’t Take a Catastrophe to be a Good Person ~ It Just Seems That Way

It came as great surprise to me when I mentioned something about watching the Hope for Haiti show earlier tonight when my soon to be daughter in law said “What’s Haiti?”  I looked at her and thought to myself you can’t be serious.  She really isn’t dumb and got decent grades in school for the most part but she is only 18 and it made me wonder if the majority of kids her age are that ignorant to what is happening in the world today.

Sure, ask anyone that reads my blogs and has anything to do with me and they will know all about it, or at least about the show.  Sadly they will only know about it because Rob Pattinson was going to be on speaking out to people trying to get them to give money and he was going to answer phones, so I read post after post how all these little fangirls intended to call as many times as possible JUST to talk to Rob.  The idea sickened me, but I have to say that if it earns more money for the cause I guess in this case whatever the motives, no one can really complain.  I am still kind of disgusted though.

When I heard he was going to be answering phones, my first thought was that of respect.  There were a lot of young famous faces we didn’t see or hear tonight, so the ones that felt that their time could be more valuable to help others than go out and do whatever it is that they would normally do on a Friday night I have to applaud and give great praise to.

A 5 year old boy survives 8 days under a building with no water. If you watched the Hope for Haiti show lastnight you saw him with Anderson Cooper looking almost 100% healthy...it surely is a miracle

Then there are the celebrities that do not wait for disasters to happen to get involved in causes.  Of course you know that Brad Pitt and Angelina Jolie are giving something or adopting a child every time you turn around, I think they have about a baseball team worth of kids by now.  They set the bar about as high as you can go when it comes to giving but if you have it to give, I find it very admirable to do it, I mean how many homes, huge meals and expensive cars to you really need when there are people living in a grass hut with a dirt floor somewhere and no food to eat. I think they realize that and are doing what they can to show people it is the right thing to do and I think that their peers are jumping on board slowly but surely.

Then there is Leo DiCaprio, one of my favorite actors and someone that

Jesus watches over them as they ride by the massive pile of rubble in the aftermath of the 7.0 earthquake in Haiti on January 12th

 walks the walk not just talks the talk.  Not only does he have the Leonardo DiCaprio Foundation but he also lives the things he talks about and believes in.  You hear stars talking about all kinds of things but instead of driving a nice little Porsche which he most certainly can afford and then some, he chose to buy a Toyota Prius hybrid car and when he remodeled his home I believe he used all green materials to do it.  Unlike other famous people spouting crap about global warming that are complete hypocrites, he actually lives the way he is asking others to live.  You will also see Leo be one of the first ones when there is a natural disaster to be right there getting his hands dirty helping out.

Another star I was pleasantly surprised to read about was Patrick Dempsey from Grey’s Anatomy.  He opened The Patrick Dempsey Center for Cancer Hope & Healing in Maine because he wanted to give back to the very same hospital that helped his mother send her ovarian cancer into remission.  Of course a lot of my close friends would be very upset if I didn’t mention David Cook.  David has been doing everything in his power to bring awareness to cancer related causes due to his brother’s long fight with brain cancer.  His brother Adam passed away but David’s passion for the cause is alive and well and he does everything he can to stay involved.  Being a brain tumor survivor, I respect and love him for this and the fact that I met so many great friends because of him makes me love him even more and he has made me aware that even someone like me can get involved with charities.

Another child escapes death from the massive quake in Haiti last week

You know giving to charity is not only for rich people but I think sometimes that some of us get overwhelmed because we feel like we have nothing to give.  Believe me if you look around you can always find something to give, it doesn’t always have to be money either.  In my case, I have no money.  I felt so bad, you can’t imagine how much I wanted to call tonight when I saw those images on the TV, my heart was breaking because there was a time when I could call in and give money, I mean not a lot but around $50 to $100, but now it is just impossibility.  What I do have are tons of clothes that my kids have outgrown just sitting out on our covered porch.  I was going to give them away to the Goodwill who would have sold them but I just kept telling myself I would do it next week but avoided taking them down there for what seems like forever and I guess now I know why.  These clothes where not meant to be sold but they were meant for something much more important.  If you don’t have money or items, you surely have time, go volunteer to do something for your local charity, but do something.  Like I said it doesn’t have to only be because of a catastrophe.

So, obviously unless you’re a complete moron and can’t tell what this note

The earthquake nearly leveled Haiti's capital city of Port-au-Prince which was only about 10 miles SW of the epicenter of the quake

 is about, you’ve been living under a rock or just don’t give a shit about current events, you know by now that the small country of Haiti in the West Indies suffered a 7.0 magnitude earthquake January 12th and approximately 33 aftershocks ranging from 4.2 on the Richter scale to 6.1 as recently as Thursday.  Haiti has seen its fair share of devastation and catastrophes.  In 2008 it had three hurricanes and one tropical storm within a 30 day period causing massive destruction.  The USGS says that this is the worst Earthquake in Haiti in 200 years.  They also say that the probability of one or more earthquakes of magnitude 6 or greater is 25 percent and one or more earthquakes of magnitude 5 or greater are about 90 percent.  So far they are estimating that 200,000 people are dead and 1.5 million are homeless. Many of their schools and their hospitals have colapsed, as well as their Parliament.

A man walking by someones home 5 days after the quake. There are still dead decomposing bodies inside, are they supposed to fix this all by themselves?

I read today on Facebook in a comment section concerning the Hope for Haiti show that was on tonight that someone didn’t feel that we should send anything to Haiti because there were people in America living in poverty.  Well I have to say I agree.  There ARE people in America living in poverty but what is poverty to us probably seems like heaven to them.  Let’s talk about our version of poverty for a minute.  The average person on SSI disability in America gets $647.00 a month plus medical benefits.  I know this because I am disabled and cannot work, I will be getting disability in a few months.  I live in a complete shit hole, I mean seriously but you know what?  I have indoor plumbing, clean running water, food in my refrigerator and cupboards, a roof over my head and a warm bed to sleep in.  My children have the right to an education free of charge and medical treatment is just a few miles away.  Do I have a harder life than a lot of people, yeah I mean I have three kids and we have barely enough money when we scrape it all together to pay the bills and then we are flat broke the rest of the month but believe me it could be worse…how you ask??? Let me tell you ~

Haiti is the poorest country in the Western Hemisphere and 80% of the

People run past a burning body in the streets, as chaos has begun to break out after the quake. Officials fear fdor the relief workers safety

 population is living under the poverty line.  Out of the 10,000,000 people Most Haitians live on less than $2 a day and for every 10,000 citizens there is one practicing physician. 85% of the population is illiterate because 90% of Haiti’s schools are private institutions with high monthly tuitions, unaffordable for most, leaving only 35% of all children access to a formal education. Yes, we live in poverty and yes, we need help but the shitty life I live that I sometimes find myself whining and complaining about probably seems like heaven to most Haitians and they would die to be in my shoes.  I think saying that we need the money more in the U.S. is really an ignorant and selfish thing.  Try and put yourself in their shoes for just one nanosecond, if you can and then say those words again.

A little survivor of the quake is treated aboard the Military Sealift Command hospital ship USNS Comfort

I suppose I can get off my soapbox now.  I have not always been the most charitable person and always done everything I could, I won’t lie. At least I do try to do what I can now with cancer awareness, locks of love and the ATBA.  I haven’t given that much except some of my time and about 16 inches of hair but it is something and I keep trying to make others aware and get them involved even if it is in the smallest way.  Just do your part, whatever feels right for you and if that means helping with Haiti, then do it, if not, do what makes you feel good but just try and do something.

Go to https://www.hopeforhaitinow.org/ to make donations for the earthquake survivors. 

*I read five minutes ago that they have officially stopped looking for survivors and are now focused on helping those who have already been recovered.

*The Red Cross is not taking donations of clothing or bottled water right now but I am searching for a charity that is.  I have emailed a few and hopefully will get a response soon, I will keep you all posted in case you have anything you want to give.

9 Comments

  1. Wonderfuly said Nans! Like you, I can not afford to donate money, however, I do donate clothing and household products when I can.

    If I may step up on my soapbox for a moment: One of the things that infuriate me about our country is the welfare system. How can someone who is able-bodied be allowed to stay at home from the age of 19 to 43 and still recieve food stamps, energy assistance, and HUD?! The person I’m speaking about has had a few jobs in her life (when she was 18). She was fired from each of them due to being caught stealing. Now, she sits at home all day playing around on her computer and lets the rest of us who pay taxes pay for her lifestyle. Wrong, wrong, and more wrong in my book. Thanks for listening.

    Like

    • Well Jodi, I have to say I do agree with you to some extent. I have to say I have had to rely on assistance since having my brain surgeries and waiting for SSI to pull their heads out of their asses to decide that someone with a big hole in their head can’t work but you know they want to hold on to every dime until the very end. Fortunately, it looks like I might finally be approved soon but it is infuriating to see someone with a coach bag and decked out in designer clothes in the state offices waiting to see their case worker, when they look perfectly healthy and capable of working. Then there are the ones that pop out a kid every five seconds to keep themselves in the system, I don’t get that, seriously. I’ve had serious bi-polar my whole life but didn’t know it, I thought I was crazy and I would work and then just quit my job because I couldn’t handle things and stupid people. I wanted to kill them, literally so there were times I could not work, but I didn’t work the system like a lot of people do and I am sure my family assumes. They have no idea what I have gone through but I don’t talk to them about it much either because they just don’t want to listen.

      Like

  2. I was just looking for this information for some time. After six hours of continuous Googleing, finally I got it in your website. I wonder what’s the Google’s problem that doesn’t rank this type of informative websites closer to the top. Usually the top web sites are full of garbage.

    Like

    • I have a feeling it is the way I post my blogs and tag them. I am too new to this to know how to do it correctly in order to get tons of hits from search engines and too cheap to go and buy any of the crap people keep trying to sell me to make it happen just like that or at the touch of a button or whatever. Hopefully as time goes on I will learn and start to get more hits but for now I am glad you found me !!

      Like

  3. du lich hue

    It Doesn’t Take a Catastrophe to be a Good Person ~ It Just Seems That Way | Read in 2 this’s Blog

    Like

  4. tour du lich mien tay

    It Doesn’t Take a Catastrophe to be a Good Person ~ It Just Seems That Way | Read in 2 this’s Blog

    Like

  5. thoi trang nam khuyen mai

    It Doesn’t Take a Catastrophe to be a Good Person ~ It Just Seems That Way | Read in 2 this’s Blog

    Like

  6. nike running shoes for boys

    It Doesn’t Take a Catastrophe to be a Good Person ~ It Just Seems That Way | Read in 2 this’s Blog

    Like

  7. combat boots for girls

    It Doesn’t Take a Catastrophe to be a Good Person ~ It Just Seems That Way | Read in 2 this’s Blog

    Like


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

